Robert Smith of The Cure performs on stage at Madison Square Garden on June 18, 2016

Photo by Neilson Barnard/Getty Images

Guide to the 34th Annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at Barclays Center

March 5, 2019

By Mark G. McLaughlin

How often does anyone get to see five legendary bands and two iconic songstresses on the same stage? That is exactly what is going to happen on Friday, March 29th at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York. Stevie Nicks, Janet Jackson, Radiohead, Roxy Music, The Zombies, The Cure, and Def Leppard will all be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. For those who plan to go or only wish they could attend, here is a guide to the 34th annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony at the Barclays Center.

See Also: Def Leppard, Radiohead, Janet Jackson Among Rock Hall Inductees

Where is Barclays Center?

Barclays Center is a massive indoor arena and home of the Brooklyn Nets basketball team and the New York Islanders hockey team. Barclays Center is also one of New York’s major venues for other sporting events including wrestling and boxing and also hosts concerts, conventions and other big events. There are many restaurants and bars in and around Barclays Center, which is well-served by affordable and reliable public transportation.

Barclays Center
620 Atlantic Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11217
(833) 215-5121

What Is the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame?

For 34 years the Rock and Roll Hall of fame has been paying homage to the best talent in the music industry, specifically those artists and performers whose influence on other artists, length and depth of career, body of work, innovation, style and technique are deemed worthy of special respect by others in the industry. Each year, the more than 1,000 members of the organization cast their ballots to chose that year's crop of inductees. Fans are also allowed to vote in a special ballot. This year four of the five bands being honored were chosen from the fan ballots.

Who's Being Honored This Year?

Solo artists Stevie Nicks and Janet Jackson will be honored, as well as five bands: The Zombies, Def Leppard, Roxy Music, The Cure, and Radiohead. Stevie Nicks is perhaps best known for her earlier work as lead singer for Fleetwood Mac. She is also an accomplished songwriter and vocalist and has been nominated for eight Grammys. Janet Jackson is one of the leading lights of her musical family and is a noted singer, songwriter, dancer and actress. In 2014 she was voted “Queen of Pop” by VH1. Like the solo artists, each of the five bands being honored has also made a major impact on the rock and roll music industry, and each has its own unique style. Def Leppard, Radiohead, The Zombies, The Cure, and Roxy Music all got their starts in England. The Zombies, formed in 1962, is the oldest band of the five.

Can I Still Get Tickets?

As of early March, tickets were still available from the Barclays Center, starting at $109 and going all the way up to $700 for regular seats. Special seating costs start at just over $1,000 and go up to almost $3,500.

How Do I Get to Barclays Center?

The easiest, fastest and least expensive way to get to the Barclays Center is by rail. The New York MTA (Metropolitan Transit Authority) has a station with the Barclays name on it: the Atlantic Avenue Barclays Center Station. Routes 2, 4, 5, B, D, Q and R all flow into the station, which is also connected to the Long Island Rail Road's Atlantic Terminal. It is only a three-minute walk from the station to the center. There are a number of parking lots within a half mile of Barclays Center, but they can be very pricey, ranging from $15 to $50 depending on the date, time, and distance.

If I Can't Make to Barclays Center Will I Miss It?

Although nothing beats being there live and in person, the 34th annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be broadcast on HBO.